Author blog hop

Whoop whoop! I was tagged in a writing blog hop by writer friend, Nikki Roberti. She is an incredibly talented writer so stalk her twitter, blog etc. I loved her MS, The Truth About Two Shoes (lovely title btw). If you’re interested, check out her blog post!

Once again, thanks for tagging me, Nikki! It’s convenient to write this blog post since #PitchWars is just around the corner. I’ll be discussing about the MS that I’ll be submitting for this competition.

So let’s have drum roll, please.

The MS is titled BLOOD REIGN. It can be considered as a dark retelling of Alice in Wonderland (which you can find out more about it under ‘writings’).

What is the name of your character? Is he/she fictional or historical?

Alice Kane is a seventeen-year-old girl and a fencing captain. This character is fictional.

When and where is the story set?

The story starts off in London, current time. This is before Alice’s mum got murdered, so when Alice is trapped between the killers and a cliff, she jumps.

But instead of death, she wakes up in an unfamiliar world. It looks medieval (no technology and everything is pretty much old-fashioned, but they have magic and monsters). I wouldn’t say Alice got sucked into the past, but rather, she got sent off to a different world.

What is the main conflict? What messes up his/her life?

Hm, her falling into another world is one. Alice is horrified to find this world is infested with monsters and violence. She kills for the first time in her life and faces many deaths afterwards. So it kinda screws up her brain a little. Being in the midst of violence makes her realise that she likes to kill too. And the longer she stays in Wonderland, the more inhumane she’ll become. So Alice is terrified that slaying too many monsters (and bad guys) will turn her into a monster.

What is the personal goal of the character?

Her mother’s death is the inciting incident that leads up to her falling into ‘Wonderland’. Alice is a pretty stoic character. She doesn’t take much joy being in anyone’s company other than her mother.  So losing her mother is a terrible blow to her. It turns grief into vengeance, and she vows to avenge her mother’s death.

24fce4f075c8b0bdb5460d02753b7926

 

But the problem is that Alice falls into Wonderland. She can’t deliver vengeance when she’s worlds apart. So Alice journeys to find her way home, and the more hatred she feels, the less human she becomes.

Note: This is not a revenge story. I know many writers told me to be careful of using revenge as the personal goal. Blood Reign is much much more than just a simple revenge. Initially, Alice’s goal is just about revenge, but she postpones her personal vendetta for other things: like fighting a war against the queen’s royal army.

 Is there a working title?

Yep, it’s called BLOOD REIGN. It serves as a standalone (but still leaves questions at the end) but in my head, there’s a lot more going on which I can’t fit in Blood Reign.

Where can we see more?

At the moment, I’m still in the querying trenches. Hopefully, we can see this book on the shelves one day. I still accept beta readers so if you’re interested, you can contact me 🙂

 

The next victims?

Mwahaha here are the next victims:

C.C Ford – I beta read her debut novel a while back and it was very interesting!

Anne Marie – My potential CP. She sent me her 1st chapter and the storyline was so damn interesting.

Kimberly Kay – She critiqued a couple of my chapters and thanks to her, my novel improved ALOT. My heroine is a fencer. Kimberly also happens to be a fencer. I’m not a fencer. So you can see where this goes. Kimberly helped me a lot with the technical details and some sword knowledge to give credibility to my story. Can’t do it without her! Plus, she also wrote a YA dystopian novel with such a lovely concept.

Leave a Reply

